top of page

The Floor is Yours | Désiree Laureijssen

July’s Alumni of the Month is Désiree Laureijssen. This structure mastermind graduated in 2017 and now works as the ‘left side brain’ of creative entrepreneurs.

On my diploma it says that I am a Lifestyle Professional. I prefer the term ‘Future Architect’: designer of the future, or future builder. That’s how I identify myself.

I give companies insight in what the future has to offer them. Based on what a target group thinks and says now, I can predict how their needs will develop in the coming years. By connecting trends, the brand and consumers, I am able to formulate a strategy that makes a company relevant to their target group now, but also in the future. While taking in account the identity and vision of the brand.

Since the first year I started International Lifestyle Studies, I had the quote ‘the best way to predict the future, is to invent it’ on my business card. And I like to invent with others. I like to see myself as the left-brain of the creatives I work for. There are so many people with great ideas; sometimes you just need some minor adjustments or another target group to make it a success. Or creatives don’t have the time to create, because of all the work that comes with running a business. I like to give that advice and that freedom. That’s the thread in what I did the past year since graduating in June 2016. I was really lucky to be able to work at both of my internships after graduating and combine this with the company I have set up with three fellow students during our study.

Two days a week I work as office manager at the Bas Kosters Studio. Bas Kosters is a fashion designer and artist and I am a big fan of his work and him as a person. As the office manager, I do everything except designing and making clothes. In addition to answering the mail and doing the administration, I attend meetings for all kinds of projects, I work with the PR-company and I am the backstage manager for shows and events. I make sure Bas can focus and what he does best, while I give him advice when necessary.

The other three days I work as head of PR & Communication at SNURK, a bedding and lounge wear brand. Here I am responsible for the website, promotional campaigns, social media, newsletters, target group research and contact with press and media. As a result, designer Peggy van Neer has the time to focus on designing.

I appreciate the work of Bas and Peggy, and I think it is an honour to let them do what they do best, while I make sure that their products end up with the right people. With three fellow students, I founded Trendpit in 2014, which has grown into a network of graduated students and students from all years of ILS. By combining insights, creativity, co-creation, curiosity and entrepreneurship, Trendpit can help companies to look assertive at new possibilities. By showing important trends in your field, we ensure the durability of your company.

Twice a year Trendpit visits the Amsterdam FashionWeek, the place where it all started three years ago and where we still find a lot of inspiration. On our website trendpit.nl we write trend articles that show the underlying stories and connections of the fashion shows, thus giving a prediction of what will be in fashion next year, but also how this translates to other sectors.

Every week, I am surrounded by creative entrepreneurs who I can support bringing beautiful things to this world and communicate this to the right audience. As a concept developer, it’s important to me to bring a smile to people their face with everyday products. That’s why I consider myself really lucky that I can do that with SNURK, Bas Kosters and Trendpit every day!

If you want to get in touch with Désiree to ask questions or get enlightened about the best way to structure your work, you can send an email to desiree@trendpit.nl.

Uitgelichte berichten
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page