top of page

THE FLOOR IS YOURS: FEMKE PLUIJM

Last September I graduated as a Lifestyle Professional. And you know what? I was the lucky bastard to be granted the award for best thesis, the ‘Gouden Meesterproef’. From that moment on, the opportunities were numerous: an item on Omroep Brabant, a stand at Dutch Design Week and even a job!

Today I work as an Innovation Manager at Catering Lokaal in Nieuwegein. This is a fast-growing catering company with a message: why get it from far, when there are so many great products to be found locally. Shortly, Catering Lokaal puts local entrepreneurs back in the spotlights.

Within my position as Innovation Manager I’ll create an even bigger stage for these local heroes. Give them an extra push. And it works! I’ve experienced it myself.

I’m extremely grateful for the stage I was given after winning the award for best thesis. As you might expect, this didn’t come easily. My research was about the accessibility of information for new status holders. Quite a heavy subject. Finding respondents was almost impossible, let alone finding an interpreter for the interviews. My final evaluation went down the drain, because my internship mentor had an accident and the first version of my thesis was rated several insufficient grades.

Despite everything, I managed to receive an award. I’ve learned to think in solutions instead of problems and stay positive. Only when you fall and fail, you learn how to get up again and even rise above your own expectations. I think this is how a lot of ILS students learn. We have a profession that still has to prove itself. Not only to the outside world, but to you as well it can be challenging not knowing what kind of job will suit you.

With a lot of enthousiasm I read and hear how fellow alumni experience their quest and find their own way. I see great companies, positions and projects. Keep up the good work everybody and I hope our professional paths will cross soon!

Uitgelichte berichten
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page