top of page

KNOW WHERE YOU'RE HEADING

‘Did you ever have the feeling that you did not know where you were heading?’

I did, four years ago. When I started at Fontys I just finished my high school in one of the difficult periods in my life so far. I received my high school diploma and was only 17 years old. Standing on that stage with my diploma and an award for most special achievement not knowing where I was heading. Now, four years later, just graduated and when I was standing on the stage I felt so happy. The only thing I was thinking that I was blessed to do so many projects the last couple of years and turning my experience into projects that matter. I want more of that!

To be honest, the first two years where not the best. My internship at GGzE was the start of using my own experiences in healthcare and my curiosity for it. The step to see my vision. The years passed by and I developed with ups and downs like new treatments and diagnoses. I went to Cape Town and lived abroad in Copenhagen for six months. I had Internships and teachers who taught me to discover my vision and listen to myself. But, when looking back in year four at all the projects I had done it all made sense: I want to use my own experiences, strengths, everything what I saw and heard to increase the quality of life from those who suffer. I want to give people a voice! A place in society!

‘I want to make the world a better place for everyone who's

circumstances make it difficult to live a normal life and join society.’

So, I did. The moment was there, I took all the freedom and my place to create a concept that was close to my heart and everything I stand for as a lifestyle professional. Unlabel was born. I created a concept that fights against labeling disabled people with an interactive augmented reality app called Faces & Places. An app which lets disabled people work on different topics with the goal to beat the shadow. The shadow stands for the disability because it is always there no matter what. Next to that, I even designed my own trend and mentality model!

Now I am graduated and ready to rock! I work on different projects and give myself enough space to see which way is best to fulfil my dream and act towards my vision. At the moment, I am applying for different jobs, applied for the master Health Sciences where I hope I can start soon and am still working on how I can form and implement Unlabel. In a company or a campaign? I am still investigating that. To be honest, I do not know where this is heading. It was strange and insecure in the beginning. But, you know what? Always see the positive side like being able to wake up late ;)

In the end, no one knows where he or she is heading, that's life. It comes with surprises, ups and downs. Will it be a master or a job? Or that secret dream to start your own company? I do'nt know yet. However, the most important thing what I have learned is to be open to change, to grow and keep believing in yourself. The rest? Only future knows where you are heading. Good luck!

Uitgelichte berichten
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page